Anyone else addicted?

It isn’t always Just about the great locations.
JuggoPop
Very Active Poster

Anyone else addicted?

Postby JuggoPop » Sun Jan 06, 2008 8:59 pm

Here's the scoop.

I'm a newbie geocacher & have (to date) placed zero hides. My wife says I have to hide at least one before I can prep up any more containers. I build them thinking I'll have them ready when the perfect spot jumps out at me. Here's a photo of my current containers, minus one I have in the woods testing against the weather.

They should all be waterproof, except for D & E. But I think I can hide those out of the elements for the most part. The ammocan currently hold my swag... it makes a great "geo-toolbox" for the trunk of my car. J is one of my favorites. I just wonder how well other cachers would take to it. Here's a better pic:

It is supposed to be a soup and cracker thermos. It opens in two stages. The first reveals a screwoff "cracker box"... it could hold a log and small pencil. Screw that off and you get to the rest of the container, where the soup would normally be. (of course that's where the swag goes)

Anyone else addicted to building containers?
Image Brian
JuggoPop
Very Active Poster

Postby JuggoPop » Mon Jan 28, 2008 12:10 am

ok... I got my first hide out there. And I have a new outlook on making cache containers as well. (not so newbie-ish)

My most recent attempt was using a 2 ounce plastic travel jar and some marine epoxy (think "mighty putty" as advertised on tv, only cheaper from the auto/bondo section at wal-mart)... a little paint and some dirt, and made a decent rock.

I don't think it's good enough yet though... 8)
Image Brian
HikerRon

Postby HikerRon » Sat Feb 02, 2008 7:09 am

I too have a box full of new cache containers, ready to be placed. finding a location for them is the problem:)